Photo: NYC Parks / Daniel Avila

Six new Laureate’s names are inscribed on the Nobel Monument in Theodore Roosevelt Park

Today, NYC Parks Commissioner Sue Donoghue joined Consul General of Sweden in New York Camilla Mellander, 2022 Nobel Prize recipient Dr. Philip H. Dybvig, and students from the Anderson School, to unveil six new Laureate’s names inscribed on the Nobel Monument at Theodore Roosevelt Park. 

“It’s an honor to once again unveil the inscriptions of the new Nobel Laureates’ names on the unique Nobel Monument in Theodore Roosevelt Park, as we celebrate their achievements for their contributions to society,” said NYC Parks Commissioner Sue Donoghue. “As Parks’ only monument honoring intellectual achievement, it is our hope that the Nobel Monument will continue to inspire New Yorkers and visitors to reflect on these laureates’ vast contributions to society.”  

The Nobel Monument was erected in 2003 as a joint initiative of the Consulate General of Sweden and NYC Parks with the purpose of honoring American Nobel Laureates, as well as the prize’s founder, Alfred Nobel. The pink granite obelisk, designed by Swedish sculptor Sivert Lindblom with a bronze relief portrait of Nobel by A. Lindberg, was placed in the park named after President Theodore Roosevelt, the United States’ first recipient of the Nobel Prize. 

“This annual ceremony is a wonderful tribute to both the American Nobel Laureates through history who have made significant contributions to breakthroughs in all six fields of the Nobel Prize, and to Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, whose legacy reminds us to keep striving for excellence,” said Camilla Mellander, Consul General of Sweden in New York. “We are especially thrilled that Dr. Philip Dybvig joined us today to commemorate the inscription, and that we welcomed back students from the Anderson School to the ceremony. We hope that this event will be a memorable and inspirational occasion for them.” 

The 2022 American Nobel Laureates added are John Francis Clauser (Physics), Carolyn Bertozzi (Chemistry), Karl Barry Sharpless (Chemistry), Ben S. Bernanke (Economics), Douglas Diamond (Economics), and Philip H. Dybvig (Economics). The new winners’ names are inscribed on the granite monument, along with the award they received. 

“I hope the students at the ceremony will come away with an increased enthusiasm for learning and creative thought. Their ideas will light up the world,” said Dr. Philip H. Dybvig, 2022 Nobel Prize recipient of the Sveriges Riksbank Prize. 

No other country has been home to as many Nobel Prize recipients as the United States. Since the prize was first presented in 1901, hundreds of Americans have attained universal recognition for their achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, and literature, and for their efforts to achieve world peace, and their names have been inscribed on the Nobel Monument. 

Photo: NYC Parks / Daniel Avila

Leave a Reply