Photo courtesy of 92NY

On May 20, three world-class musicians – cellist Alisa Weilerstein, pianist Daniil Trifonov and violinist Stefan Jackiw, – come together for their first NYC appearance as a trio. Their thoughtfully crafted program allows each musician’s artistry to shine: Jackiw and Trifonov open the program with Lutosławki’s Partita – a fascinating 1984 work with a nod to Baroque keyboard music; then Weilerstein and Trifonov perform Rachmaninoff’s Sonata for Cello and Piano, in which the composer envisaged the two instruments as playing an equal role. In the program’s second half, the three musicians come together for Tchaikovsky’s large and almost symphonic A-minor Piano Trio, bringing the evening’s showcase performance to a close with the famous trio’s heart-wrenching finale. The concert is streamed live on 92NY’s website.

Concert details:

Date and time: Saturday, May 20 at 7:30pm
Location: 92NY, 1395 Lexington Avenue (between 91st & 92nd street); also streamed online and available for 72 hours after broadcast
Artists: Alisa Weilerstein, cello
Daniil Trifonov, piano
Stefan Jackiw, violin
Program: LUTOSŁAWSKI: Partita
RACHMANINOFF: Sonata for Cello and Piano in G minor
TCHAIKOVSKY: Piano Trio in A minor
Tickets: $30, $36, $49.50, $55; streaming tickets $25
For tickets and info