Online Entry Site Now Open for Honors Recognition of Television That Inspires Positive Social Change

The Television Academy announced today that entries are now being accepted for the 14th Television Academy Honors, which celebrates programs and producers who explore issues of concern to society in a compelling, emotional and insightful way, thereby powering social change.

The deadline for submission is Jan. 29, 2021. Applicants can visit the Television Academy’s website at to submit entries.

The Honors recognition annually calls attention to programming that enlightens, educates and motivates audiences. Past winners have included black-ish (ABC), 13 Reasons Why (Netflix), Pose (FX) and This is Us (NBC). Entries may be made for fiction or nonfiction series that aired from Jan. 1, 2020, through Dec. 31, 2020, and can be submitted:

  • As a whole.
  • For a single episode.

Television movies, limited series or fiction/nonfiction specials and short-form programming may also be submitted.

The 2020 honorees represent some of the most influential and relevant series, programs and documentaries of the previous year, including: 16 Shots (SHOWTIME Documentary Films Presents in association with Topic, Impact Partners and Chicago Media Project), At the Heart of Gold: Inside the USA Gymnastics Scandal (Sidewinder Films II and HBO Documentary Films), Patriot Act with Hasan Minhaj (Art & Industry for Netflix), Queen Sugar (Harpo Films and Array Filmworks in association with Warner Horizon Scripted Television), Unbelievable (CBS Television Studios for Netflix) and Watchmen (HBO in association with White Rabbit, Paramount, Warner Bros. Television and DC Entertainment).

About the Television Academy
The Television Academy seeks to expand the horizons of television excellence. Through the programs, publications and events of the Academy and its Foundation, it strives to empower storytellers who shape the evolving television space. And it celebrates those who have excelled by recognizing their achievements through accolades and awards, including television’s most coveted prize, the Emmy Award. For more information, please visit

Leave a Reply